Board of directors

Executive Directors

S.C. Harris, 56 | Group Chief Executive

Appointed: November 2008

Committees: Nomination and Executive (Chairman)

Qualifications: Chartered Engineer, graduated from Cambridge University, masters degree in business administration from the University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Experience: Spent his early career in engineering with Courtaulds plc and then moved to the USA to join APV Inc from 1984 until 1995, where he held several senior management positions. He was appointed to the Board of Powell Duffryn plc as an Executive Director in 1995 and then went on to join Spectris plc as an Executive Director from 2003 to 2008. He was also a Non-Executive Director of Brixton plc from 2006 to 2009.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Mondi plc.

D.F. Landless, 55 | Group Finance Director

Appointed: March 1999

Committees: Executive

Qualifications: Chartered Management Accountant, graduated from the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology

Experience: Started his career with Bowater and Carrington Viyella and then at Courtaulds plc from 1984, being appointed a Finance Director in UK and US divisions of Courtaulds plc from 1989 to 1997 and as Finance Director of Courtaulds Coatings (Holdings) Limited from 1997 to 1999.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Luxfer Holdings plc

Board of directors

Non-Executive Directors

A.M. Thomson, 68 | Chairman

Appointed: December 2007

Committees: Nomination (Chairman) and Remuneration

Qualifications: Chartered Accountant, graduated from Glasgow University with a masters degree

Experience: Worked on a variety of audits for Arthur Andersen and Price Waterhouse, followed by senior management positions with Rockwell International plc, Raychem Ltd and Courtaulds plc. Joined Rugby Group plc as a Group Finance Director from 1992 to 1995 followed by Smiths Group plc from 1995 to 2006. He was also a Non-Executive Director of Laporte Plc from 1996 to 2002 and of Johnson Matthey Plc from 2002 to 2011. Past President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

External appointments: Chairman of Hays PLC and Polypipe Group plc as well as Non-Executive Director of Alstom SA.

J.A. Biles, 67 | Senior Independent Director

Appointed: August 2007

Committees: Audit (Chairman), Remuneration and Nomination

Qualifications: Chartered Accountant, qualified with Price Waterhouse & Co after graduating from Exeter University in Chemistry and Physics.

Experience: Worked on a variety of audits and M&A activities at Price Waterhouse, followed by 5 years at EMI plc. In 1981 he joined Racal Electronics and held three successive financial director roles in defence and energy electronics. From 1991 to 1997 he was Group Finance Director of Chubb Security PLC and then from 1998 to 2004 he was Finance Director of FKI PLC, the international engineering group. He was a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee of ArmorGroup International plc from 2004 until 2008, of Charter International plc from 2005 to 2012, of Hermes Fund Managers Limited from 2005 to 2011 and from Northern Ireland Electricity plc (previously Viridian Group plc) from 2005 to 2011.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Sutton & East Surrey Water plc, HellermanTyton Group plc and Skyepharma plc.

R. Rajagopal, 61 | Non-Executive Director

Appointed: September 2008

Committees: Audit, Remuneration and Nomination

Qualifications: A Chartered Mechanical Engineer, graduated with a BTech (Mechanical Engineering) from IIT Madras, India, followed by a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Manchester and was awarded a honorary doctor of science degree by Cranfield University. A Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) and the Institute of Mechanical Engineers.

Experience: Joined BOC Edwards after obtaining his PhD and worked in various positions in operations management including Operations Director. Promoted to Managing Director of Edwards in 1993 and Chief Executive of BOC Edwards in 1996. Appointed Executive Director of BOC Group plc in 2000 until 2006. Past member of UK Council for Science and Technology and the Audit Commission. He was Non-Executive Director of Foseco plc from 2005 until 2008 and FSI International (a NASDAQ company) 2000 to 2005.

External appointments: Chairman of UMI3 since 2010 and of HHV Pumps Ltd since 2009. Non-Executive Director of W.S. Atkins plc since 2008, Spirax-Sarco Engineering plc from 2009, E2V Technologies PLC from 2010 and Porvair plc from 2014.

I.B. Duncan, 53 | Non-Executive Director

Appointed: November 2014

Committees: Remuneration, Audit and Nomination

Qualifications: Chartered Accountant, qualified with Deloitte and Touche after graduating from St. Catherine's College, University of Oxford in Geography.

Experience: Worked on a variety of audits with Deloitte and Touche, followed by 4 years with Dresdner Kleinwort Wasserstein. From 1990 to 1992 he worked for Lloyds Bank plc and then for British Nuclear Fuels plc from 1993 to 2006. In 2006 he took on the role of Group Finance Director with Royal Mail Holdings plc leaving in 2010. Non-Executive Director of Fiberweb plc from 2013 to 2013.

External appointments: Appointed as Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committees of Babcock International Group plc in 2010, WANdisco plc in 2012 as well as Mouchel Group in 2013.

E. Lindqvist, 57 | Non-Executive Director

Appointed: June 2012

Committees: Remuneration (Chair, appointed 1 January 2013), Audit and Nomination.

Qualifications: Engineer, graduated with a Masters from Linköping Institute of Technology, Diploma in Marketing from IHM Business School and MBA Financial Analysis from University of Melbourne

Experience: Began her career in various positions with Ericsson working in Continental Europe, North America and Asia from 1981 to 1990 followed by Director roles with Ericsson from 1993 to 1999. Joined Teliasonera in 2000 as Senior Vice President moving to Xelerated as Chief Executive from 2007 to 2011. Non-Executive Director of Transmode Holdings AB from 2007 to 2013 and of Blekinge Institute of Technology from 2010 to 2013.

External appointments: Appointed as Non-Executive Director of Assa Abloy AB in 2008, Tieto Corporation from 2010 as well as Sweco AB, Caverion Oy and Mycronic AB since 2013 and ComHem Holding AB in 2014.

U.S. Ball | Group Company Secretary

E. Lindqvist

Springwood Court, Springwood Close, Tytherington Business Park, Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK10 2XF.

Tel: +44(0)1625 505300 Fax: +44(0)1625 505313.

Registered Number 519057 England and Wales.